Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Even though I blog about fashion, I am NOT a fashionista. Far from it really. I love sweatpants, sweaters, tshirts and ugg boots. I will allow you to judge me. When it comes to work or going out, I can make a conscious effort and look pretty good. But I struggle with putting things together on my own body.

Somehow when it comes to fashion blogging it’s much easier for me to dream of what I’d want and how they would work. Collages make magic, and I’m here to help guide you…especially if you are a struggling soul like me.

Endless hours of web browsing has led me to 3 key components for holiday fashion. Mix and match or use all 3 of these pieces, and you’re bound to make a great look.

Baroque, Velvet and Embellishments/Sequins. Consider these your 3 new besties for surviving the holiday fashion season.

Note: I have a thing for black, so there is quite a lot in the collages.

Baroque
adj. \bə-ˈrōk, ba-, -ˈräk, -ˈrȯk\
of, relating to, or having the characteristics of a style of artistic expression prevalent especially i the 17th century that is marked generally by use of complex forms, bold ornamentation and the juxtaposition of contrasting elements often conveying a sense of drama, movement and tension.

This is a fairly bold fashion trend for 2012. I for one couldn’t get a grasp on how to execute this without looking like I tried too hard. I will also admit I was a bit of a chicken in terms of trying things out and actually committing to the purchase.  If you’re like me, here are two looks that are simple with a touch of drama. It’s easy to add a hint of metallic or embellishment with these baroque trends. Somehow the two go hand in hand.

baroque 1

Two Toned Square Earrings – Dorothy Perkins :: Red Label Gold Baroque Print Slim Leg Trousers – Newlook.com :: Warehouse Baroque Lace Shell Top (Dark Red) – John Lewis :: Black Ponti Stud Jacket – Wallis Fashion :: Baroque Filigree Bracelet – Dorothy Perkins :: Quilted Metal Corner Across Body Bag – ASOS :: Nine Out of Tenacious Heel in Red – ModCloth

baroque 2

Pashli Satchel – 3.1 Phillip Lim via Net-A-Porter :: Olimpia Bow Blouse – Nelly :: Rare London Baroque Prom Skirt – Republic :: Doll House Hustler Black Faux Suede Women Ankle Boots – Shoe Ocean :: Deco Black Chandelier Earrings – Banana Republic :: Skinny Clean Metal Bar Belt (Oxblood) – TopShop

Velvet
noun \ˈvel-vət\
a clothing and upholstery fabric characterized by a short soft dense warp pile

I love velvet. Call me an old lady but velvet is so soft and luxe. I had a velvet blazer from Gap, many years ago, and when I would wear it some girls would turn their noses up at me. “VELVETTTT. HAHAHAHA” well I’m here to tell those nasty bitches that velvet is actually still on trend and can make a great accent to your look, especially for the holidays. Plus you’ll feel soft, so that’s a bonus!

velvet 1

All Wrapped Up Pearls Drop Earrings – Kate Spade :: Wine Velvet Shorts – Fashion Union :: Promise Shoes Kailin (Blue) – Heels.com :: Marc by Marc Jacobs Classic Q Natasha – Piperlime :: Warehouse Oversized Sparkle Zip Back Jumper – House of Fraser :: Black Floral Lace Tights – Newlook.com

velvet 2

Ted Baker Velvet Blazer – John Lewis :: Red or Dead Barton Embellished Collar Blouse – Bank Fashion :: Ted Baker Deoli Tailored Peg Trouser – Ted Baker London :: L Erickson Double Loop Bow Headband – Nordstrom :: Sonata Moment Too Soon Flat – ModCloth :: Pashli Satchel - 3.1 Phillip Lim via Net-A-Porter

Sequin
noun \ˈsē-kwən\
a small plate of shining metal or plastic used for ornamentation especially on clothing
Embellishment
noun \-lish-mənt\
something serving to embellish or to make beautiful with ornamentation

I love sequins, glitter, embellishments, metallics and strong details. I have been told that I am slightly too old for some over the top sequined looks, however I try so hard to incorporate them into my look. My everyday, go to, cheap flats are gold glitter sequins. There are some beautiful ornate pieces out there that can spice up your every day look. Some are just enough that no other accessories are needed.

embellished 2

Khaki Trench Coat – Dorothy Perkins :: Pretty Gem Necklace – Miss Selfridge :: River Island Cream v Neck Peplum Top – River Island :: River Island Red High Waisted Leather Look Shorts – River Island :: Reiss Raina Flat Color Block Clutch – Reiss :: Gold Sequin Bow Pumps - Debenhams 

embellished 4

Link and Plate Detail Waist Belt – ASOS :: Jewel Collar Blouse – Rare London :: High Waist Flare Mini Skirts – Chic Nova :: Melie Bianco Enveloped in Style Tablet Clutch – ModCloth :: Hanky Panky Lace Lined Bandeau – Journelle :: Glitter Peep-Toe Cage Heel – Charlotte Russe :: Bourgeois Bow Stud Earrings – Kate Spade via Nordstrom :: NY Thin Spade Hinge Bangle – Kate Spade via Bloomingdales

embellished 5

Motel Gabby Dress – Republic :: High Heel Sandal with Ankle Strap – Zara :: Cold Medal Clutch – Coast :: Jewel Gem Studs – Bauble Bar

